The Yamas & The Niyamas

We’ve just completed the Yamas this week in yoga class. These are our social codes of ethics, beginning with the foundational: Ahimsa (nonViolence), followed by Satya (Truth), Asteya (nonStealing), Brahmacharya (nonExcess/wasting energy), and Aparigraha (nonHoarding/possessiveness). They go deep and teach us how to be on our mats, in our bodies, in our minds, in our hearts, and how to be the best versions of ourselves out in the world.

Next week, we begin the Niyamas, our internal practices or self discipline practices. These practices really hone how to be our best selves so that we can better serve in the world and in life. We’ll talk about how they manifest on and off the mat, making it a living practice. Everyone is welcome to join. All of my classes are beginner friendly.

The wonderful thing about starting each year with the Yamas and the Niyamas (one each week), is that by the time we complete them, Spring will have begun to sprung.

Monday Stretch and Relax at 6pm (North Orange Community Church)
Tuesday Stretch and Relax at 7pm (Royalston Town Hall)
Wednesday Breathe and Challenge at 6pm (North Orange Community Church)
Friday a Little Bit YaYaYoga 9am (North Orange Community Church)
Categories Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close